I’ve always depended upon the kindness of Cork people…

Just my brief experience of Cork people’s kindness getting the bus down from Dublin.

After a brief visit to the National Library in Dublin I was famished and decided to get a sandwich but I wasn’t sure if I had enough for the bus down after this extravagance (I had 16 euros on me) or would I need to rush to the ATM down the street. The bus was about to arrive so I asked a man at the bus stop how much a single was to Cork, he replied ‘I’m not sure, I have a pass, maybe this woman knows, but if you’re stuck I’ll give you the money’. I asked the woman a few yards away, and she said, ‘Do you not have enough to get there? Sure, I can take care of ya if you need it’. So, there was myself, stuttering and thanking them, and after a few minutes the bus rolls up and we hop on and thankfully it was 15 euros for a single to Cork. I smiled, thanked the woman while the elderly man who was looking up the bus seeing if I was ok.I gave him the thumbs up and he smiled back with a little salute.

As we got to the half way stop point at Urlingford where people usually get off and go to the shop, maybe get something to eat, I stayed on the bus. As people got back on, the same lady from earlier came over and asked me ‘do you need money to get a coffee?’. I laughed, and said no, I feel a little bad that I laughed at her for offering actually. But I was a little shocked at their act of simple generosity. I thanked them again getting off the bus and they laughed and said no big deal. Maybe they were right, but I thought with all the bad news in the world being reported, sometimes it’s good to be reminded of such simple good deeds.

About Alan Noonan

Alan Noonan is currently a Kluge Fellow at the Library of Congress. He received his PhD in history from University College Cork, and has experience as a historical consultant and researcher. He has been awarded several fellowships including the Glucksman Government of Ireland Fellowship at New York University, a Mellon Fellowship at the Library Company in Philadelphia, and a fellowship at the Smithsonian Institution at the National Museum of American History.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

